Ep.4/2021 Pamela Hart – digging Up dirt, Cassie hamer talks about author collaborations, and our book of the month discussion is “Like Mother” by cassandra austin

Renovations are hell. And that’s before you find the body beneath the floorboards. An intriguing mystery from a stylish new voice in crime fiction, for readers of Kerry Greenwood and Holly Throsby.

When your builder finds bones under the floor of your heritage home, what do you do? For TV researcher Poppy McGowan, the first step is to find out if the bones are human (which means calling in the cops and delaying her renovations) or animal (which doesn’t).

Unfortunately, ‘help’ comes in the form of Dr Julieanne Weaver, archaeologist, political hopeful, and Poppy’s old enemy. She declares the bones evidence of a rare breed of fat-tailed sheep, and slaps a heritage order on the site. The resultant archaeological dig introduces Poppy to Tol Lang, the best-looking archaeologist she’s ever met – and also Julieanne’s boyfriend.

When Julieanne is found murdered in Poppy’s house, both she and the increasingly attractive Tol are considered suspects – and so Poppy uses her media contacts and news savvy to investigate other suspects. Did Julieanne have enemies in the right-wing Australian Family Party, for which she was seeking preselection, or in the affiliated Radiant Joy Church? Or at the Museum of New South Wales, among her rivals and ex-boyfriends? And who was her secret lover?

Can Poppy save herself, and Tol … and finally get her house back?

Fast, fun and ferocious in turns’ – Candice Fox

Digging Up Dirt is a clever, blackly funny murder mystery of our times’ – Petronella McGovern


Click here for Pamela’s writing classes

https://www.pamela-hart.com/contact/ To contact Pamela about speaking at your book club or library


A REMINDER:

There are only 81 days to go for the Northern Beaches Readers Festival – to find out more information, see our wonderful line up of guests and get early bird tickets go to www.nbrf.com.au and sign up for the newsletter.

2021-09-18T09:00:00

  days

  hours  minutes  seconds

until

Northern Beaches Readers Festival

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s