Ep: 16 Renee McBryde – House of Lies

This compelling memoir of family secrets, murder, sexual assault and domestic violence is also the gripping story of Renee’s constant struggle to accept the truth and her true identity, and, ultimately, to forge a life on her own terms.

From the outside, Renee McBryde had a fairly typical childhood – school, working mum, swimming lessons with loving grandparents. But waiting for her was a secret so awful that it would rock her to the core.

Renee’s mother was a teenage runaway who found herself pregnant and alone when Renee’s father was jailed for killing two men. When Renee discovered the truth, she knew her life would never be the same again. She was a murderer’s daughter – but that made her determined to escape the past.

This is her sometimes shocking, often moving, inspirational true story of terrible secrets and tragic lies, and a life of abuse, suffering and survival.

To read more about Renee go to the Featured Authors page here

Ep: 14 Christine Dibley – To the Sea

To the Sea is the stunning saga from debut author Christine Dibley.

 To The Sea is a call to the sea passed on from mother to daughter… lyrical, evocative and deeply engrossing.” Australian Arts Review

 A dangerous yearning echoes through generations.

On a clear summer’s day, Detective Inspector Tony Vincent answers a call-out to an idyllic Tasmanian beach house.

Surrounded by family and calm waters, seventeen-year-old Zoe Kennett has inexplicably vanished.

Four storytellers share their version of what has led to this moment, weaving tales which span centuries and continents.

But Tony needs facts, not fiction: how will such fables lead him to Zoe and to the truth?

As Tony’s investigation deepens, he is drawn into a world where myth and history blur, and where women who risk all for love must pay the price through every generation.

For fans of Kate Morton and Alice Hoffman.

Ep:8 Anne Buist – Dangerous to know

Anne Buist author of the Natalie King crime series talks to me today about the second book in the series ‘Dangerous to know’.

Anne Buist is the Chair of Women’s Mental Health at the University of Melbourne, based at Austin Health, and has over 25 years clinical and research experience in perinatal psychiatry.

She continues to work with Protective Services and the legal system in cases of abuse, kidnapping, infanticide and murder.

She also teaches, researches and directs a mother baby unit and provides one-off second opinions for management of perinatal disorders and opinions for the court on these matters but no longer takes on new patients.

Medea’s Curse her first psychological thriller, has been optioned by Causeway films for a TV mini series.

 

 

 

 

Ep: 5 Cath Ferla – Ghost Girls

Cath Ferla talks about her book ‘Ghost Girls’.

Winter in Sydney. The city is brimming with foreign students. Sophie Sandilands takes a job teaching at an English language school. When one of her students leaps to her death it becomes clear that lurking within the psyche of this community is a deep sense of despair and alienation. When it is revealed that the dead woman on the pavement has stolen another’s identity, Sophie is Continue reading