Ep: 9 Catherine Berry – “But you are in France, Madame”

Today, something new for the podcast, I’m reading an excerpt from Catherine Berry’s lovely book ‘ But you are in France, Madam’, and apologies in advance for my school-girl french pronunciation.  I will be interviewing Catherine later in the year.

Catherine had been planning her year-long trip to France for many years, when it finally happens, she packs her
Continue reading

Ep:2 Amanda Hampson

The French Perfumer by Amanda Hampson

THE FRENCH PERFUMER BY AMANDA HAMPSON   the-french-perfumer

In the tradition of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this is a charming historical novel set in the South of France by the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters.

Published by Viking an imprint of Penguin Books

Iris Turner, an unworldly young Englishwoman arrives in the French Riviera to take up a secretarial role for the mysterious Hammond Brooke.  Living in a small, exclusive hotel amongst eccentric and unpredictable aristocrats and struggling to gain her employer’s trust, she soon realised that nothing is as it seems.  Initiated into the mysterious world of perfume, she finds herself entangled in a web of intrigue and reception.  Gradually discovering the truth, she gains a new understanding of the meaning of love, loyalty, and betrayal.

From the bestselling author of The Olive Sisters, this is a captivating and evocative novel full of surprising twists and turns.